Do You Remember Your First Flight

Anything that does not fit elsewhere can be discussed here.

Moderators: DJKeefy, 4u Network

Grandad
Egyptian Pharaoh
Egyptian Pharaoh

Post by Grandad »

This weeks Russian aircraft disaster set my mind thinking about my own flying experiences. Apart from a short flight in a De Haviland Rapide around 1950 when in the sea cadets, our first holiday flight was in 1958. On that occasion we flew from London Airport to Milan, then by coach to Lignano for 7 nights followed by a transfer to Molveno for a further 7 nights. 14 nights in all, half board, flights hotel and transfers; £26 each.
We flew with Alitalia in one of their lovely Vickers Viscount airplanes. Propelled by four Rolls Royce Dart turboprop engines and seating 48 passengers. Two each side of a centre aisle. I had personal association with Viscounts because as an apprentice I did some of the machining of nosewheel and main undercarriage trunnions for those aircraft. The flight took about 4 hours (Max speed around 320mph) and here is a snap through the window of the two port engines as we approached Milan just as the sun was rising.
I was in the RAF at the time and we had married the year before so this was our first 'foreign' holiday. We have taken well over 100 holiday flights since that first one.
Thinking back; what is now Heathrow was at that time London Airport, a miniscule airport compared to todays massive 5 terminal complex. The original London Airport was opened in 1946 when there was no departure areas as we know them today. Passengers waited in tents to be called to their flights. In 1955 the Queen opened the new London Airport with its new building and departure lounge.